February 9, 2018

February 9, 2018

Children’s Champion Awards Breakfast

The Children’s Champion Awards Breakfast is a unique opportunity for the entire Genesee County community to rally around children and to say collectively that children are our first priority. The Children’s Champion Awards started in 1996 to recognize shining examples of those in the community doing good things for children. It is our hope that this event will continue to inspire and affirm the commitment we all have for our children.

  • Roxanne R. Caine, Chair
  • Linda L Moxam, Vice Chair
  • Jeff Collier, Treasurer
  • Gail Stimson, Secretary
  • James Yake
  • Eric Lieske
  • Sarah Zyburt
  • Patti Yorks
  • Rachel Jacobs
  • Kenyetta Dotson
  • Xavier Brewer
  • Carol Brooks
  • Kenyetta Dotson
  • Louis Hawkins
  • Claudnyse D. Holloman
  • Chia Morgan
  • Linda Moxam
  • Cheryl Sclater
  • Michael Simon
  • Patrice Stiehl
  • Gail Stimson
  • Dayne Walling

Parking Mand Directions
Please note that there is very limited parking available at the Riverfront Banquet Center.
Please utilize the FREE shuttle from the UM-Flint William S. White lot on the corner of Saginaw & Fifth (Robert T. Longway). Guests are strongly encouraged to use the Robert T. Longway exit off of I-475 to avoid traffic congestion downtown.

The Children’s Champion Awards started in 1996 to recognize shining examples of those in the community doing good things for children. The awards are designed to recognize and thank individuals, businesses, government agencies and organizations for their tremendous contributions toward making Genesee County the best place to raise children. Some of the awards include scholarships for youth. The categories for nomination are as follows:

  • Outstanding Individuals (Five Award Categories)
  • Outstanding Business, Organization, Government Agency or Community Initiative (Four Award Categories)

Nominations for the 2018 awards are now closed.

Eligibility requirements include:

  • Candidate must be a current or past nominee of Priority Children’s Outstanding Youth Award
  • Candidate must be a high school senior or currently enrolled in post secondary education
  • Candidate must be able to document involvement in civic and/or community service
  • Candidate must be a resident of Genesee County
  • Candidate must have a cumulative 3.0 GPA or higher

Application must be received via email (kids@prioritychildren.org) by 5pm on December 31, 2017.

The Bob Emerson Scholarship Fund

The Bob Emerson Scholarship Fund was established by Bob Emerson and is an endowed fund at the Community Foundation of Greater Flint in 1996 and made its first award in 2007. Bob Emerson served Genesee County dedicating his work to education and advancing the lives of children.

Curbco Vocational Education Award

Curbco Vocational Education Award * – Any high school senior or post-secondary learner age 24 or younger who is pursuing a career path through vocational education, also known as career and technical education or technical and vocational education and training.  This type of education prepares people for specific careers at various levels from a trade, a craft, technician or other professional position.  At the post-secondary level, vocational education is typically provided by an institute of technology, Polytechnic, university or by a local community college.
*Note: The Curbco Vocational Education Award includes a $1,000 scholarship toward training expenses. 

The Guy and Linda Moxam Outstanding Youth Scholarship Fund

The Guy and Linda Moxam Outstanding Youth Scholarship Fund is provided the winner of the Outstanding Youth Award. The recipient will receive a $1,000 scholarship to the recipient of the Outstanding Youth Award every year.  Guy and Linda Moxam have been dedicated to advancing the lives of children for over 20 years. This scholarship will be presented to the young person selected for the Outstanding Youth Award.

If you have any questions or would like more information about the Children’s Champion Breakfast feel free to get in touch.

Phone: 810.234.5007